Anatomy of a Reading: Marmalade the Cat

My tarot skills have started to get a little rusty, so for the month of September I’ve decided to do a tarot reading a night. I’ll share some of the more interesting ones here with you on the blog.

Note: I’m an intuitive reader, and I use bibliomancy to help clarify what the cards are trying to say.

Question: Will Marmalade heal from her injury?

Background: Marmalade was rescued from the shelter the night before she was to be euthanized. She’d suffered a lot of trauma in the months preceding her rescue, including the death of her first human and neglect from the relatives who took her in. She developed fear aggression, so did not do well in either the shelter or a foster home. Then she came to me. We’ve spent the better part of a year building trust and making her feel safe, and she’s become a very happy, trusting, loving cat.

She was also relatively healthy until two nights ago, when I came home to find her screaming in pain, hyperventilating and unable to use her front leg. We spent multiple hours (and dollars!) at the vet ER, but no bones were broken and the tests were inconclusive. There are a number of theories, but we’re not sure what’s causing her issues.  Her holistic vet saw her yesterday for acupuncture and she’s improved, but still obviously has pain.

Marmalade in happier times
                Marmalade in happier times

Deck: Legend: The Arthurian Tarot by Anna-Marie Ferguson

The spread: I used a horseshoe spread to focus on the influences and obstacles in her injury.

The Horseshoe reading from freedivination.com
Spread: freedivination.com   

Results:
1 – Past Influences: Seven of Swords
A new direction and purpose. Recent events bring the promise of brighter days to come.
I think this refers to Marmalade’s coming here to Fogvale Cottage, where she has the promise of a much happier life than she was in before.

2 – Present Influences: Ace of Shields
Making great gains. Gratitude. Material and emotional well-being.
She’s overall in a very good place, and she’s really gaining a lot of stability and emotional wellness she didn’t have before. She’s definitely making huge strides every day from the frightened, angry and confused cat I met last Yule.

3 – Hidden Influences: Strength
Courage and vitality to reach your goals. A gentle strength.
I was glad to see the Strength card here. I think it speaks to the fact that we’re coming from a position of strength in dealing with this issue, and we have the resources we need to hopefully meet the goal of seeing her well again.

4 – Obstacle: Star
Not looking at the whole picture. Unable to appreciate or benefit from signs of hope. Fear keeps you from recognizing possibilities
The Star is a symbol of hope, but its appearance as an obstacle can either indicate fear (there’s certainly been plenty of that) or the inability to see the hope that’s there. Definitely something I want to avoid in this situation.

5 – External Influences: Three of Swords
Tormenting oneself with daydreams of disaster. A difficult period of readjustment. Fear of losing others.
Honestly? I think this is about me. I’ve been definitely having a lot of fear over her having come so far only to have to put her to sleep. When I was doing bibliomancy for this (the book accompanying the Legend deck is awesome for bibliomancy, with lots of short phrases describing the different aspects of each card), the phrase ‘difficult period of readjustment’ jumped out at me. That tells me that her recovery will be long and winding, an outcome the vets warned me about.

6 – Suggested Course: Eight of Cups
Heeding warnings. Refusing to accept defeat.
Stay the course with her treatment, which includes traditional veterinary medicine, physical therapy, acupuncture, herbs and lots and lots of love.

7 – Outcome: Eight of Spears
The beginning of an adventure which tests one’s limits. A good omen.
It may be a while, but this reading gives me hope that my Marmalade is going to be just fine. Good energy and thoughts for Miss Marmalade are more than welcome!

Do you see something in the reading I may have missed? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a comment